Chiaroscuro Tutorial

Chiaroscuro is a lighting technique that has been used for hundreds of years and it started in paintings.  Chiaroscuro is Italian for Light and Dark this technique is used for very serious and dramatic photography. Using a flash in a studio I positioned my model so that the light would only hit half her face, it took a few tries to get it positioned correctly. Start with a black background and positing your model how you want, then turn the lights out in the room to test where the flash is hitting, once you position the light how you would like start taking pictures.  I took my pictures in a completely dark room, I had an assistant shine a flash light on the models face so I could focus once focused we turned it off and took the picture. I took about 50 pictures to get 6 good ones, here is my personal favorite.

Leave a comment